Erich
Burckhardt
Foundation
Site Map  |   Contact Us  |   Français  |   Deutsch  |

 

 

On September 2nd, 1998, Swissair Flight 111 departed from New York on a scheduled flight to Geneva. About an hour after take-off, the flight crew first noticed an unusual smell in the cockpit and only minutes later smoke. They set course on Halifax International Airport, Canada, to attempt an emergency landing, but the situation aboard the aircraft deteriorated quickly. Control over the plane was lost as it was only about 40 miles short of the runway. The aircraft crashed into the ocean near Peggy’s Cove, a small fishing town southwest of Halifax. All 215 passengers and 14 crew members lost their lives. This tragedy changed our lives, as we lost our husband, our father.

In the aftermath of this tragedy, we visited Nova Scotia and the Halifax area on several occasions. Every time again, we were deeply impressed by the immense sympathy, helpfulness, generosity as well as dedication of the Nova Scotian people. Therefore we decided to use part of our indemnities we had received to establish this Foundation, which was incorporated in Switzerland in May of 2003.

Our aim is to express, through this Foundation, the sincerest thanks of the Burckhardt family to the population of Nova Scotia, with a special thought to the search and rescue teams and the fishermen of St. Margaret’s Bay. At the same time, we want to bear in remembrance Erich, our husband and father.

Fondation
Erich
Burckhardt
Plan du Site  |   Contactez Nous  |   English  |   Deutsch  |

 

 

Le 2 septembre 1998, le vol Swissair 111 décolla de New York pour un vol de ligne vers Genève. Environ une heure après le décollage, les pilotes remarquèrent une odeur inhabituelle dans le cockpit, et quelques minutes après seulement de la fumée. Ils firent route vers l’aéroport international de Halifax au Canada afin de procéder à un atterrissage d’urgence, mais la situation à bord de l’avion se détériora rapidement. L’équipage perdit le contrôle de l’avion alors qu’ils se trouvaient uniquement à 65 kilomètres de la piste d’atterrissage. L’avion s’écrasa dans l’océan près de Peggy’s Cove, un petit village au sud-ouest de Halifax. Tous les 215 passagers et 14 membres d’équipage perdirent leur vie. Cette tragédie changea nos vies, et nous perdions notre mari, notre père.

Suite à cette tragédie, nous avons visité la Nouvelle-Écosse et la région de Halifax à plusieurs occasions. A chaque fois, nous avons été profondément impressionné par l’immense compassion, serviabilité, générosité ainsi que dévouement de la part des gens de Nouvelle-Écosse. C’est pourquoi nous avons décidé d’utiliser une partie des indemnités reçues afin d’établir cette Fondation, qui a été fondée en Suisse en mai 2003.

A travers cette Fondation, nous souhaitons exprimer les remerciements les plus sincères de la famille Burckhardt à l’égard de toute la population de Nouvelle-Ecosse, avec une pensée spéciale aux équipes de sauvetages et de secours ainsi qu’aux pêcheurs de St. Margaret’s Bay. En même temps, nous souhaitons gardé en mémoire Erich, notre mari et père.