Erich
Burckhardt
Foundation
Site Map  |   Contact Us  |   Français  |   Deutsch  |

 

 

On September 2nd, 1998, Swissair Flight 111 departed from New York on a scheduled flight to Geneva. About an hour after take-off, the flight crew first noticed an unusual smell in the cockpit and only minutes later smoke. They set course on Halifax International Airport, Canada, to attempt an emergency landing, but the situation aboard the aircraft deteriorated quickly. Control over the plane was lost as it was only about 40 miles short of the runway. The aircraft crashed into the ocean near Peggy’s Cove, a small fishing town southwest of Halifax. All 215 passengers and 14 crew members lost their lives. This tragedy changed our lives, as we lost our husband, our father.

In the aftermath of this tragedy, we visited Nova Scotia and the Halifax area on several occasions. Every time again, we were deeply impressed by the immense sympathy, helpfulness, generosity as well as dedication of the Nova Scotian people. Therefore we decided to use part of our indemnities we had received to establish this Foundation, which was incorporated in Switzerland in May of 2003.

Our aim is to express, through this Foundation, the sincerest thanks of the Burckhardt family to the population of Nova Scotia, with a special thought to the search and rescue teams and the fishermen of St. Margaret’s Bay. At the same time, we want to bear in remembrance Erich, our husband and father.

Erich
Burckhardt
Stiftung
Sitemap  |   Kontakt  |   English  |   Français  |

 

 

Am 2. September 1998 hob der Swissair Flug 111 von New York ab, auf einem Linienflug nach Genf. Ungefähr eine Stunde nach dem Abflug bemerkte die Besatzung zuerst einen ungewöhnlichen Geruch im Cockpit und nur Minuten später auch Rauch. Sie steuerten den Halifax International Airport in Kanada an, um eine Notlandung zu versuchen, doch die Situation an Bord des Flugzeuges verschlechterte sich rasch. Die Besatzung verlor die Kontrolle über die Maschine, als sie kaum noch mehr als 40 Meilen von der Landebahn entfernt waren. Das Flugzeug stürzte in den Ozean unweit von Peggy’s Cove, ein kleines Fischerdorf südwestlich von Halifax. Alle 215 Passagiere und 14 Besatzungsmitglieder kamen ums Leben. Durch den Verlust unseres Ehemannes und Vaters wurde unser Leben zu tiefst verändert.

Nach dieser Tragödie besuchten wir Neu-Schottland und die Gegend von Halifax bei mehreren Gelegenheiten. Die grosse Anteilnahme, Hilfsbereitschaft, Grosszügigkeit und das “Engagement” der Bevölkerung Neu-Schottlands haben uns immer wieder tief beeindruckt und so haben wir uns entschlossen, einen Teil der erhaltenen Entschädigungssumme in diese Stiftung einzubringen, welche im Mai 2003 in der Schweiz in den Handelsregister eingetragen wurde.

Mit der Stiftung möchten wir der Bevölkerung Neu-Schottlands den tiefsten Dank der Familie Burckhardt aussprechen, mit einem speziellen Gedanken an die Rettungs- und Bergungsmannschaften und an die Fischer von St. Margaret’s Bay. Zugleich möchten wir die Erinnerung an Erich, unseren Ehemann und Vater, wach halten.